In 1969, a group of engineers and geologists formed the Society of Professional Engineers of the Northwest Territories. This eventually led to the acclaiming of legislation by the Territorial Legislature in 1979 establishing the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of the Northwest Territories (NAPEGG).

On April 1, 1999, the new territory of Nunavut was created by Federal legislation entitled The Nunavut Act. On the same date, NAPEGG was granted the authority to regulate the professions of engineering, geology and geophysics in Nunavut.

On May 1, 2008, new Acts came into force in both the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.  The new name of the Association became the Northwest Territories Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists.  NAPEG administers both Acts and uses the business name:  Northwest Territories and Nunavut Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists (NAPEG).