2017 Engineers Canada Awards

Presented annually, the awards honour engineering excellence, outstanding community and professional involvement, contributions to engineering education, support for women in engineering,contributions by engineers and engineering students to Canadian society, remarkable engineering projects
or achievements, and engineering journalism.

Awards are presented in nine categories:

  1. Gold Medal Award
    For exceptional individual achievement and distinction in a field of engineering.
  2. Young Engineer Achievement Award
    For outstanding contribution in a field of engineering by an engineer 36 years of age or younger as of May 31, 2017.
  3. Meritorious Service Award for Professional Service
    For outstanding contribution to a professional, consulting or technical engineering association or society in Canada.
  4. Meritorious Service Award for Community Service
    For exemplary voluntary contribution to a community organization or humanitarian endeavor.
  5. Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education
    For exemplary contribution to engineering teaching at a Canadian University.
  6. National Award for an Engineering Project or Achievement
    For outstanding engineering projects or achievements by an engineering team in which Canadian engineers were involved.
  7. Award for the Support of Women in the Engineering Profession
    For outstanding support of women in the engineering profession and engineering excellence.
  8. Gold Medal Student Award
    For outstanding leadership, contributions to society and volunteerism by an undergraduate engineering student.
  9. The Award of Journalism Excellence in Engineering
    This award celebrates the journalists who incorporate, through words or images, a balanced perspective on how engineering impacts important issues ranging from health and infrastructure to technology and economic prosperity .

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 4 p.m. EST on Friday, January 13, 2017.

Awards recipients will be honoured at Engineers Canada’s Awards Gala in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador on Thursday, May 25, 2017.

Nomination forms can be found on the Engineers Canada website.

*All nominees must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. They must also be registered in good standing with one of the 12 provincial/territorial engineering regulators.

**Nominees must be registered as student members with one of the 12 provincial/territorial engineering regulators, unless there is no student membership category for that regulator.

Engineers Canada will accept nominations from any interested parties provided that the nominees have met all of the selection criteria.

For more information

For more information about Engineers Canada’s awards, scholarships, or Fellowship opportunities, contact Lucy Lefebvre, Communications Administrator: Lucy.Lefebvre@engineerscanada.ca